top of page

The saddest part? It came true.


A few days back, I'd posted an article titled 'Dear Society', in which I'd mentioned how students are forced, most often by their 'well-intentioned' parents to take up a profession they have no passion for.

I'd written you how kids automatically answer "Doctor" in response to the question of their future occupation, because that's what they've been taught to say ever since they could speak.

But you know the saddest part?

Today was the day we 10th-pass kids went to school to get our 11th grade admission forms, and I actually saw this happen.

The exact same thing.

It was one of my guy friends, who was asked by an English teacher who'd stopped to chat with us for a while, and the exchange was like this, word for word:

"So what are you taking up in 11th?

"Science..." he hesitated, aware that it's not what he'd genuinely like.

"Sure?" asks Stella maám.

He hesitates again, and we all know what's going on.

"And after that?''

A resigned look came over his face as he replied, "Doctor."

It broke my heart.

When I wrote that article, I hadn't seen it happen in real life yet, more like figured it must happen to kids.

Well, the fact that it's true, and I was there to witness it hit me hard.

Said friend has an extraordinary talent and passion for music. He was in the School Choir with me for many years before studies suddenly became 'more important'.

There's not much we can do here for this friend who's already resigned himself to these expectations being thrust at him.

We can only hope to change this culture, this mindset, this trend of adults trying to force kids into what they think is good for them.


Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page